Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   General Harley Davidson Chat (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat-29/)
-   -   Poker run do's & don'ts (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/general-harley-davidson-chat/666222-poker-run-dos-and-donts.html)

cathead 07-14-2011 09:28 PM

Poker run do's & don'ts

I haven't posted in quite a while, have been busy with various medical procedures and aging parent adventures. Also got a new Mustang last fall and have neglected my HD duties to an extent. But, my head is clearing now and priorities have been restored!

This weekend I am doing a poker run, and although I've been riding for over 40 years, have never been on a poker run and have a couple of questions. Does everyone usually ride as a group and stay more or less together for the stops, or is it more free form and everyone meets up at the end by a certain time?

Any other "rules" to be aware of?

Thanks again!

TXSwede 07-14-2011 09:35 PM

Try to get a royal flush.

firefighter616 07-14-2011 09:42 PM

I stay away from all the "Biker" events
I'm from NYC
say what's on my mind
anti-social
and usually piss people off
hate drunks

and i never win shitte

TXSwede 07-14-2011 09:58 PM

Sorry for the non-answers. Honestly, the vast majority of the poker runs I have attended are free form. There is a designated start time then mandatory stops on your way where you collect a card or just a verification. Then the final stop which may or not be where you started from has an end time where no one else is counted. You can go as fast or slow as you want and ride by yourself or get in a group. If you are going on a run though, do not get upset if people join you, its going to happen and if you don't like riding in a group don't go. And don't have a drink at every stop.
Oh, and try to get a royal flush.

piasspj 07-14-2011 10:02 PM