General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do you HAVE to have louder pipes?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2012, 09:00 AM
DanDolfn
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do you HAVE to have louder pipes?

First, let me say that I'm no mechanic at all. I have no clue about how to do stuff, so I have to have someone else do everything for me. And I have to rely on the advice of others, too.

That said, when people talk about changing out the air filter, changing the pipes and adding Power Commander, is it really necessary to change the pipes?

I understand the part about the air filter providing more air. I understand what the Power Commander does. I understand what taking out the catalytic converter does.

But everyone talks about the louder sound of the new pipes. I don't want louder sound. I'm happy with my stock sound. And new mufflers cost even more money.

If I do the other stuff and add, for example, Rush ceramic headers, does it really negate the benefit if I keep the stock mufflers?

Last edited by DanDolfn; 02-12-2012 at 09:06 AM.
Old 02-12-2012, 09:09 AM
LoveHate
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have you ever ridden in a really big city with heavy traffic, tense drivers and women with mobile phones?

I admit that when I go over some obscure village in the mountains I am ashamed how much noise produce ... but in the city, it saved me many times.

Old 02-12-2012, 09:10 AM
DannyZ71
Extreme HDF Member
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Leave it all stock except got gutting the cat. And maybe a map flash to richen it up just a tad.

Old 02-12-2012, 09:14 AM
Scratt
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts