Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Harley Davidson Videos (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/harley-davidson-videos-25/)
-   -   Using my camera on the HD (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/harley-davidson-videos/1292070-using-my-camera-on-the-hd.html)

David Rose 07-11-2019 10:20 AM

Using my camera on the HD

I've been using an ABTO G1s camera on my bike for about the past 5 years, it's not the greatest quality but it's more than adequate for an amateur like me!
I have been trying to mount it in different positions, and with different mounts, on my Sportster, not easy with the handlebars shaped as they are so I got a mirror mounted RAM Ball system. Also tried my old mount.
This video is a comparison of using the same camera on the HONDA CTX1300 and my Harley XL1200T Sportster. I haven't quite finished with the decision as to where to mount it but I think I'm going to move it so the camera is on the mirror mount but behind the windshield, despite catching some reflection.

Feedback would be welcomed.
Cheers
Dave

ScottinAZ 07-11-2019 04:13 PM

ok. Here are my thoughts. I use a GoPro Hero7 Black, and the main reason is the built in stabilization that it does. I dont know the exact mechanism used but it gives VERY smooth video, even rigidly mounted to the bike. I place mine on the fairing next to the windshield for good visibility. With your camera, you may consider trying a helmet mount or something other than rigidly mounted to the bike, as even when stopped, I could detect the engine vibrations coming through the camera. The issues with vibration are that its distracting, and takes away from the "experience" and makes it a bit harder to watch. Same thing with looking through a windscreen, any reflection will distract from what you are trying to show.

Dont get me wrong, Im far from a professional, but there are things out there that can make a better video nearly effortless.

David Rose 07-12-2019 09:58 AM