Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

12’ Iron 883 rough idle/backfiring

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2018, 12:16 PM
gj_magi
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 12’ Iron 883 rough idle/backfiring

Hey All,
I recently picked up my first Harley; a 2012 Iron 883. It does not run well whatsoever. It idles horribly and consistently backfires through the intake, it also does not respond to throttle inputs. After much troubleshooting and research, I believe the problem to be that the previous owner installed a SE Heavy Breather without bothering to tune it. I have been an auto mechanic for the last decade and never experienced a car run so badly after a simple intake mod, so I didn’t really consider it an issue until I came across a post about it, but I guess such a smaller engine reacts differently to a smaller change in intake volume.

So my question to you guys is if in your experience, have you heard of my bikes symptoms and do you guys believe it to be a problem with the AFR?

Ideally, I’d like to find a oem intake to run for now until I buy some exhaust and tuner to compliment the SE intake. I’d even trade the SE for an OEM at this point. I just wanna ride the bike.

Old 04-17-2018, 12:29 PM
jbarr1
Road Master
Received 278 Likes on 197 Posts

The air cleaner shouldn’t make it run THAT bad. But yes, it should be tuned. Check for intake leaks, fuel pressure and stored codes.

Old 04-17-2018, 12:51 PM
shanneba
Road Warrior
Received 439 Likes on 365 Posts

Do you have any stored codes?

https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sport...des-dtc-s.html

Are you sure it wasn't tuned after the intake or just guessing?

How long was it sitting before you bought it? Could the gas be bad?

Old 04-17-2018, 01:14 PM
gj_magi
3rd Gear

Originally Posted by shanneba