Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Sportster running weird and now won't start!

Old 06-20-2018, 03:43 PM
CharlyShreds
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportster running weird and now won't start!

Hey all!

Want to start off by saying sorry if this is in the wrong section, I'm new to this forum.
This is my first Harley let alone my first bike and I have no knowledge when it motorcycle mechanics.
I've tried to look and search for threads on this issue but I just wanted to confirm and get some more insight before I dump money into my bike.

A little back story, I got my bike (1996 Harley Davidson Sportster XL883) maybe a month ago bone stock from a used dealer. They sold it to me certified and it ran well when I rode it home.
It was obviously used and had 19k miles on it. One thing that I thought was weird was that the bike would sometimes die or feel like it would die at redlights. For a temporary remedy I would pull out my choke maybe halfway and it would shoot back up to regular idle rpm. So the ride from dealership to my house I rode with the choke a little bit out. I also smelled a strong smell of gas while riding or idling. When I got home I read threads that said it might be a carb issue? From here on out I only rode short rides and didn't push my engine.