Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Ignition problems after parking downhill - FHLTCU 2008

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2019, 04:20 AM
Chyp
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ignition problems after parking downhill - FHLTCU 2008

Greetings folks,
I’m new to the Harley Davidson side of the world, and got myself an Electra Glide Ultra Classic 2008, with ABS and EFI. Loving the bike, although I’ve been experiencing a problem these last weeks. My house is on a road slightly downhill, and to open the gates I need to stop the bike, as I try to start it again it never starts the first time. Sounds like it will, but then just let’s out a small explosion and stalls, let’s out a tiny bit of smoke from the spark plug area it seemed. Second try usually starts with no effort, but yesterday it took me 4 tries to get her going. This only happens when parking downhill, on leveled ground or going up she starts with no effort. I’m still learning my ways with basic motorcycle mechanics so could someone give me some opinions? Thanks in advance

Old 06-09-2019, 05:52 AM
Sorce
Tourer
Received 95 Likes on 65 Posts

Leave it running!

Sorce

Old 06-09-2019, 05:54 AM
Chyp
1st Gear

Originally Posted by Sorce
Leave it running!

Sorce
I would love to, unfortunately european versions come with some gimmick that turns off the bike as soon as you pop the jiffy stand. I wonder if there's an easy way to turn that off

also i'm on a slope so the only way i can park it is in gear, or she'll roll down the road heh

Last edited by Chyp; 06-09-2019 at 06:03 AM.
Old 06-09-2019, 07:38 AM
bustert
Grand HDF Member
Received 714 Likes on 625 Posts

has it been properly warmed up?
short stroking a cold engine can leave unburned fuel in the chamber.