Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Won't start after rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2006, 03:14 PM
Born2run
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Won't start after rebuild

I have just done a top end rebuild and replaced 3rd countershaft and main gears (see newbie post). Prior to the rebuild the bike started 1st time, everytime. Now it wont even fire. I have strong spark at the plugs, no fueling problem and have checked and rechecked my cam timing marks. Valve clearance set as per manual. When I crank the starter the engine seems to blow back through the carb and then backfires but no proper firing. I am no newbie to engines but this is the first Harley I have rebuilt and I have to admit to being stumped. It seems as if the ignition is out by 180 degrees but I have tried absolutely everything and had not even a sniff of firing. The bike is an '81 ironhead sportster but has points (that strange crossover year) Any suggestions?

Old 03-05-2006, 03:54 PM
springer_
Road Captain
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Won't start after rebuild

Pull the plug wires and plugs and check the compression. By what you describe, I would check the pushrod adjustment and/or the cam timing. If I had to guess it sounds like your intake valves are open when the plug fires.

Old 03-05-2006, 04:32 PM
Born2run
6th Gear