how to test a crank position sensor - Page 2 - Harley Davidson Forums



Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

how to test a crank position sensor

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 11-24-2009, 10:05 PM
LiquidMagnum LiquidMagnum is offline
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Piniongear, I hope you still monitor this thread. Would you mind sending me that Crank Position Sensor procedure to me?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:50 PM
geargrinder's Avatar
geargrinder geargrinder is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 1,058
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If your tach reads approx 300 RPM while cranking, your crank sensor is working. To test for a crank signal with a multimeter, switch meter to 'AC Volts'. measure from sensor ground to signal wires, should read at least 5V AC while cranking.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-28-2009, 11:25 PM
1997bagger's Avatar
1997bagger 1997bagger is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,650
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
Default

You can use a ohm meter to check resistance with the sensor unplugged, it is a coiled magnet and b+ to sensor ground has specs to produce a correct signal, b+ to sensor base is a short to ground test. It would be how helpful a dealership would be to give the specs for the resistance test.
The paperclip tests give voltage output numbers but still need to know the out of range specs of that test.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:10 AM
jmetro jmetro is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

TONS OF BAD INFO ON THIS THREAD! NONE OF WHAT WAS MENTIONED SO FAR IS CORRECT.

1. there is no batt voltage to the CKP, period
2. the pulse is not a pulse but a constant a/c voltage PRODUCED by the ckp sensor itself
3. the drop in a/c voltage caused by the missing tooth tells the ecm what part of the stoke the engine is on, and the slow down of the crank (upon compression), and lower a/c voltage tells the ecm what phase the engine is on.
4. the only way to test the ckp, is to UNPLUG it from the ecm, put a multimeter on the 2 wires, (R/B and B) and crank the engine. it should show 1-5 VA/C.
5. this is hit or miss, some ckp show good when they are not, but if it shows bad, it is.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-19-2009, 01:25 PM
producer producer is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mnpls MN
Posts: 852
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmetro View Post
TONS OF BAD INFO ON THIS THREAD! NONE OF WHAT WAS MENTIONED SO FAR IS CORRECT.

1. there is no batt voltage to the CKP, period
2. the pulse is not a pulse but a constant a/c voltage PRODUCED by the ckp sensor itself
3. the drop in a/c voltage caused by the missing tooth tells the ecm what part of the stoke the engine is on, and the slow down of the crank (upon compression), and lower a/c voltage tells the ecm what phase the engine is on.
4. the only way to test the ckp, is to UNPLUG it from the ecm, put a multimeter on the 2 wires, (R/B and B) and crank the engine. it should show 1-5 VA/C.
5. this is hit or miss, some ckp show good when they are not, but if it shows bad, it is.
JMETRO,
thanks for the information.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-19-2009, 01:54 PM
rbabos rbabos is offline
Banned
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodstock, Ont , Can
Posts: 3,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Restistance is X 100 scale, should read 10. That's what my 07 softail is, if that helps. 5 volt ac pulse when cranking.
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-19-2009, 04:20 PM
car5car car5car is offline
Banned
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Crank sensor is kind of alternator. Crank sensor has 1 coil, Harley alternator has 2 coils, rest of bikes 3 coils.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-08-2010, 12:24 PM
jspence jspence is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would just like to thank FXDWG 2002 for your input on how to test a crankshaft position sensor. It worked for me and saved me money when needed. My bikes up and running at a minamal cost. Thank You, and this forum for everything. Really Appreciated... Popjoe!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:25 AM
Muhran Muhran is offline
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Longboat Key
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default don't need a scope

Quote:
Originally Posted by MW2469 View Post
Thanks for the reply.what do I do if I can't lay my hands on a o'scope? Any other options?
Go to Radio shack, buy a 5 volt LED for $2.00, time response is fast so you can see the pulsing, works great - a lot chaeper than an oscilloscope..Mike
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-08-2014, 07:07 PM
barrister86 barrister86 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muhran View Post
Go to Radio shack, buy a 5 volt LED for $2.00, time response is fast so you can see the pulsing, works great - a lot chaeper than an oscilloscope..Mike
This is brilliant. If you happen to have a camshaft position sensor (My 2000 FLHR-EFI does) this method works for it too. It can be difficult to hold a multi-meter and try to read a voltage. Get the 5 volt led and solder a short length of wire (pigtail) onto each terminal, then a small alligator clip on each of the other 2 ends. Unplug the ckp harness, connect the alligator clips and viola'. I also use this method to ck injector harnesses.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speed sensor hoss357 Touring Models 13 08-11-2016 01:24 PM
crank position sensor micg1313 Dyna Glide Models 11 06-06-2016 02:59 PM
Evo with little to no spark sgillikin Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 2 11-12-2015 11:18 AM
crank position sensor pmcburne Touring Models 4 08-18-2008 11:52 AM
Question for those who ride in the rain with a half helmet Clammy General Harley Davidson Chat 40 01-06-2008 04:08 AM


Tags
2000, cam, ckp, crank, crankshaft, davidson, davidsoncrankcase, harley, location, position, price, sensor, sensors, sportster, test, testing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: