Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Power Vision Information Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 10:01 PM
iclick
Extreme HDF Member
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Power Vision Information Thread

Okay, so why would I change tuners when my bike was running fine and I had developed a good working knowledge of my previous tuner? I had been running the PCV with Auto-Tune for two years and can honestly say that I couldn't ask the bike to run any better, but I was drawn to the Power Vision (PV) for several reasons:

1. The PV and most flash-based tuners like SERT, SEST, and TTS can access the ECU tables directly, while the PCV is a "piggyback" device that intercepts the ECU data and alters it according to the tuner's specs. IMO the engineering strategy of the PCV is valid and that system works very well for most riders. OTOH there were some areas I wanted to experiment with, including speedometer calibration, IAC steps, and tables that might relate to improving city gas mileage--and these are settings the PCV could not access.

2. On non-TBW bikes the PV can import PCIII and PCV base maps to the VE Tables. TBW bikes can't do this because their VE tables are based on airflow (KPA), not throttle position, as PCV maps are Alpha-N tables that work with RPM and TP. Thus, you can't import data about apples into one based on oranges, but because I have an ’07 bike my fine-running PCV maps could be imported seamlessly to the new tuner and flashed to the ECU. Slick!