Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

SERT question

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2013, 10:07 PM
Jager247
Cruiser
Received 15 Likes on 4 Posts
Default SERT question

I was at my LHS today looking at these tuners. They want $400 for them. I checked Ebay for new unopend ones and see them going for half or less. What's the deal with that? are then un-used never opened one a good deal?

I'm new to the whole EFI thing....

Old 07-16-2013, 08:54 AM
nhrider1
Road Warrior
Received 53 Likes on 51 Posts

Originally Posted by Jager247
I was at my LHS today looking at these tuners. They want $400 for them. I checked Ebay for new unopend ones and see them going for half or less. What's the deal with that? are then un-used never opened one a good deal?

I'm new to the whole EFI thing....
A lot depends on which bike you have. There are better tuners available at similar prices...if you have O2 sensors for feedback.

I don't think the SERT has O2 sensor feedback...its a dated product. The latest incarnation is the SEPST w/ feedback.

If you don't have O2 sensors you are better off with a simple Dynojet tuner or similar product, where you can use caned maps.

Old 07-16-2013, 02:32 PM
wurk_truk
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

And... I don't think dude knows a SERT from a SEPST from a PV from a TTS.

What part number are you looking at OP? What year is your bike, OP? This EFI stuff is semi confusing to those that don't know whats up.

So, to determine what Tuner may be right for YOUR bike, we will need the make, model, and year of the bike.