Thundermax ECM Thread - Page 21 - Harley Davidson Forums

Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Thundermax ECM Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2017, 03:31 PM
B18cx B18cx is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flint Texas
Posts: 39
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

Originally Posted by TOMMYBLAZIN View Post
so no dyno needed with the Tmax?
Correct. Not needed.
BUT, if you spent some time on a dyno you could manage to squeeze a few more ponies out of it by tweeking the timing.
The gain there vs. the money spent on the dyno session dose'nt make sense.
The map T-Max has along with their support and auto tuning, gets its pretty damn close!!
I'm super happy with mine.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 10:11 AM
FLTRI17 FLTRI17 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 894
Thanked 165 Times in 128 Posts

Consider this...
The dyno is an indispensable tool to use to tune for best performance and mileage.
It is also the absolute best tool to properly breakin a performance build. Provides all sensor outputs to monitor during breakin process rather than sending a rider out onto the highway to guess at temps and loading. Most riders are not experienced in proper breakin methods and just go out and ride hoping all's well.
The dyno is the best way to diagnose running issues during the first minutes of running a new build to preclude the bike from running any longer than necessary with a problem to identify and repair it/them.
The dyno is also he ONLY way to quantify the performance of a build. Sure you can tell if the bike runs without hiccuping or spitting but don't know if the o2 sensors are reporting properly so the system can be expected to tune itself.
Also having a properly tuned and broken in build will provide many miles of smiles rather than 'back to the shop...again to try to figure out why the bike runs really hot, or seems sluggish, or won't start and/or idle properly.
Outside of the above I agree there is no requirement to dyno a ThunderMax equipped bike.
I see the biggest challenge with t-max is getting the timing optimized since there is no tuning help for that.
Hope this opens the minds to the value of a dyno, not just to correct AFR, but a plethora of other valuable "tools in the box".
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 11:44 AM
barrygreen's Avatar
barrygreen barrygreen is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mansfield Texas
Posts: 3,149
Thanked 96 Times in 68 Posts

So I just upgraded my cams, contacted T-Max and they suggested a map, didn't work.
I had saved my old map that was running fine and loaded it. Seems to run great and I can feel the cams. So Like suggested I am just going to let it do its thing. I can always play with the timing myself, and it will do the fuel.

I emailed T-Max looking for a local tuner, and another T-Max dealer locally. This is the response from both.

Case Ref: "1-56233" - Map Request

Barry, I am sorry that the 424 map did not work for you. I tell you what I would do if the bike is running good with the map you have been running and you are getting no pinging with it I would keep my money in my pocket and let the Thunder-Max tune the fueling. There is no need to have the bike dyno tuned if you have no pinging.

Let me know if you have any questions.


We are capable of tuning your Thundermax for you. We do not have a Dyno, They are not required to tune a Thundermax except in the case of a big motor build. We have a ThunderMax Factory trained technician on site Monday - Friday.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 02:05 PM
o0smitters0o's Avatar
o0smitters0o o0smitters0o is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pasco WA
Posts: 110
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default RamseySpeed/ThunderMax

If you spent the money on the ThunderMax let it learn. Ride it, Autotune it, Ride It, Autotune it. A Dyno is the best way to have a motorcycle tuned by someone that knows what they are doing. That being said the shop that tunes your bike is going to have to be efficient with the TMax. Most shops aren't and have a tuner they prefer. Then you'll hope the guy that tunes it knows his ****. Just because a shop has a Dynometer doesn't mean anyone really knows the ins an outs and can get the most out of your engine. When you loaded the new map you started over. Your original tune was probably closer than starting over. I have a 117" motor and never had a problem. I thought I did at the beginning but I needed to get some riding in. If you need more info check out They specialize in TMax. You end up emailing your Data. They will read through and make adjustments and send it back. If you think your not getting everything out of your bike hit them up. The motors they are building are ****ing monsters all with a ThunderMax at the heart. Hit them up on Facebook or their website.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 02:55 PM
barrygreen's Avatar
barrygreen barrygreen is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mansfield Texas
Posts: 3,149
Thanked 96 Times in 68 Posts

Oh trust me I know what you are talking about. I just emailed TM about a new base map suggestion for the cam swap, unfortunately it pinged real bad. So I reloaded my saved map that has several K on it and it is much better, pulls hard, acceleration is great so yes.... I'm riding it. I know the TM will adjust, just thought I might get the timing closer...but it seems fine.
Now if I can only stay on the seat when I yank the throttle...
Reply With Quote

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto tune finished cajun1957a Touring Models 15 11-04-2017 08:53 AM
One Week Since Dyno Tune ripto Sportster Models 13 09-04-2017 05:11 PM
2014 Iron surging. Please help! vamgnt Sportster Models 2 07-09-2017 08:19 PM
HARLEY: '13 103 softail 204 cams with supertuner Br125 The Dyno Room 4 06-09-2016 08:54 AM
SE 58mm Throttle Body Thundermax Map Tuning Help Prw3 Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 0 04-26-2016 01:06 PM

auto tune, hot, knock, ping, thundermax

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Your question will be posted in: