LiveWire Harley-Davidson's emerging models: HD's first electric motorcycle the LiveWire.

LiveWire who’s buying one? Or, was going to buy one?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2019, 12:50 AM
donk_316
Road Master
Received 72 Likes on 49 Posts
Default who’s buying one? Or, was going to buy one?

I really wanted one. Honestly just for running around town or the gym or whatever instead of firing up the FXSE just for 10 min across town.

The range is ok, over night charging is ok, but the price? Yeah I can’t justify $30k USD / $40k CAN just for a runaround town vehicle with no trunk.

I can buy another truck for that price.

Electricity or fuel. It still costs something somewhere

Old 01-08-2019, 05:42 AM
JohnTz
Cruiser
Received 129 Likes on 44 Posts

I will get one since I’m a new tech junky. I just hope the first version is reliable and has no scary battery issues like some of the other earlier electric bikes from the other manufacturers.

I even vent like the way it looks. Looking forward to get the weight specs etc on it.

The following 2 users liked this post by JohnTz:
BigGusHD (06-21-2019), cacomly (01-08-2019)
Old 01-08-2019, 10:29 AM
FatBob2018
Grand HDF Member
Received 2,217 Likes on 1,263 Posts

Does the tax credit apply? A $2500 to $7500 check from the feds will certainly take some of the sting off. Then unscrew the if you live in a state with rebates like California or Massachusetts, they have their own rebates.

Then if you factor in that you aren't going to have to spend $6,000 in engine upgrades to Stage IV just to get decent performance out of it...

Meh. Maybe the true cost of ownership won't be all that much higher than a regular Harley, but it's not a regular Harley, so... Well, it's not available for another 9 months or so, so I guess I'll wait for the owner reviews before bothering thinking about it any further.

The following users liked this post:
cacomly (01-08-2019)
Old 01-08-2019, 11:07 AM
cacomly
Road Master
Received 585 Likes on 361 Posts