Sponsored by:

M8, Harley, EPA, Euro Trash

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2017, 10:23 PM
psyshack
Road Warrior
Received 363 Likes on 266 Posts
Default M8, Harley, EPA, Euro Trash

I can't expose myself like I wish I could and I've only tested my 2017 RK.

I've spent years tuning ice ( internal combustion engine ) and other petroleum based power sources. And have access to some pretty high tech testing equipment. I'm not a lab rat nor do I have a college degree. Just work and a good understanding of the physics of combustion.

By EPA standards, specs, rules and grey area of law. My M8 is so lean from the factory it has a NOX issue. Now the uber greenie weenies want a smaller carbon foot print but we can't have NOX. The bike is so lean that it is starving the cats in anything but full throttle hard roll ons. I have not red lined the bike. At 360 miles it's still only seen 4k rpm max. But it has been grunted from a standing start to gear to gear grunts and steady state.

I've ran these test in static mode and back packed and saddle bagged the test equipment running down the road from 35f to 70f. And I can tell you when summer hits the numbers will only get worse.

From what I've seen even faking the OEM motor into rick states of tune through very primitive intake fuel rich states. The cats get more efficient. Thus NOX goes down and so does the over all carbon foot print.

I honestly don't think Harley can take your engine warranty because of mods as long as you run the OEM head pipe. Will the OEM head pipe limit you? You better believe it will in your ultimate output.

I wish I could write a white paper as good as I read them. There is some stinkim concerning Harley and the EPA.

Old 01-20-2017, 10:34 PM
mjwebb
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 8,523 Likes on 4,424 Posts