Runing nav on mute - Harley Davidson Forums

New "Rushmore" Models This Section Is For 2014 And Future Rushmore Models Only
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Runing nav on mute

  #1  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:57 AM
UltraSteveUSAF's Avatar
UltraSteveUSAF
UltraSteveUSAF is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Creedmoor, NC
Posts: 760
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Default Runing nav on mute

I'm visual. I dislike the pronounced directions from the GPS. On my 16 RGU when I muted the sound it didn't interupt the music playing. Now here's the question my 17 RGU won't do the same. Anyone know how to accomplish the blank space if you mute the sound for GPS.......It's muted but the where the sound should be it interrupts the music for a the same amount of time. OK thanks in advance for any help
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:08 AM
Mhenry1282's Avatar
Mhenry1282
Mhenry1282 is online now
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: NW FL
Posts: 62
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Hopefully there is a way. I haven't found it yet, searched quite a bit. Gets super annoying!
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-2018, 11:35 AM
lyork's Avatar
lyork
lyork is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 1,665
Thanked 243 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Wow...I didn’t know that. I had it muted on my 14 but haven’t even used the nav on my 17 yet. I’ll mess around with it and see what I find out. I HATE when it interrupts the music
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-2018, 12:16 PM
Ssitruc
Ssitruc is online now
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 232
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
Default

See if this works... Go to the "Home" screen on the BOOM! > then click on "Setup" > then toggle down to and click on "Feedback" and uncheck "Navigation Prompts".
Then click on "Back" > and toggle down to and click on "Navigation Setup" > then click on "Appearance" and uncheck "Audio Information".
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-2018, 12:18 PM
UltraSteveUSAF's Avatar
UltraSteveUSAF
UltraSteveUSAF is offline
Road Master
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Creedmoor, NC
Posts: 760
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Default Okay

Originally Posted by Ssitruc View Post
See if this works... Go to the "Home" screen on the BOOM! > then click on "Setup" > then toggle down to and click on "Feedback" and uncheck "Navigation Prompts".
Then click on "Back" > and toggle down to and click on "Navigation Setup" > then click on "Appearance" and uncheck "Audio Information".

OK I"lltry that
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-2018, 12:33 PM
hbsoldier3's Avatar
hbsoldier3
hbsoldier3 is offline
Club Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bear Flag, lower end
Posts: 3,887
Thanked 577 Times in 467 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ssitruc View Post
See if this works... Go to the "Home" screen on the BOOM! > then click on "Setup" > then toggle down to and click on "Feedback" and uncheck "Navigation Prompts".
Then click on "Back" > and toggle down to and click on "Navigation Setup" > then click on "Appearance" and uncheck "Audio Information".
I think he is done after unchecking "Navigation Prompts". But I have a question, is "Audio Information" what you see at the bottom of the NAV screen?
 
  #7  
Old 06-13-2018, 01:10 PM
Ssitruc
Ssitruc is online now
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 232
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
Default

hbsoldier3, you may be correct with just the unchecking of the first one and being done, I do not know for sure. And if I understand you question right, I do not think "Audio Information" is what you see at the bottom of the NAV screen, but I could be wrong. I don't think so because 1) it says "Audio Information" and 2) I think what you see at the bottom of the NAV screen, if you're talking about the information being displayed at the bottom when its navigating, is actually another "field" that you can enable,disable, or even change what is displayed there (like the next street you'll be looking for or something like that). But, with that being said, I am not 100% positive... without going out to the garage and toying with it. which of course now I'm curious so I will be doing shortly lol
 
  #8  
Old 06-13-2018, 01:18 PM
hbsoldier3's Avatar
hbsoldier3
hbsoldier3 is offline
Club Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bear Flag, lower end
Posts: 3,887
Thanked 577 Times in 467 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ssitruc View Post
hbsoldier3, you may be correct with just the unchecking of the first one and being done, I do not know for sure. And if I understand you question right, I do not think "Audio Information" is what you see at the bottom of the NAV screen, but I could be wrong. I don't think so because 1) it says "Audio Information" and 2) I think what you see at the bottom of the NAV screen, if you're talking about the information being displayed at the bottom when its navigating, is actually another "field" that you can enable,disable, or even change what is displayed there (like the next street you'll be looking for or something like that). But, with that being said, I am not 100% positive... without going out to the garage and toying with it. which of course now I'm curious so I will be doing shortly lol
Now that I read your post I am headed to the garage, lol.
 
  #9  
Old 06-13-2018, 01:31 PM
Ssitruc
Ssitruc is online now
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 232
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
Default

Ok, first I have both of the things unchecked that I stated to do above and I do not get audio prompts or music gaps from my navigation operating (just saying as background information). So below is what my screen looks like when mapping to go somewhere. Where it shows turning left in 50 yds and then E Reno St, I am thinking thats what you were referring to, if so, that is actually the "Maneuvers" field and if you toggle to it and click on it, it goes to another screen that shows you basically step by step driving instructions to your destination, and would not be anything to do with "audio information" i don't believe (which I also have disabled anyway). Anyways, hope that helps more than causes confusion lol
 

Last edited by Ssitruc; 06-13-2018 at 01:41 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ssitruc For This Useful Post:
hbsoldier3 (06-13-2018)
  #10  
Old 06-13-2018, 03:02 PM
MilesOfTexas
MilesOfTexas is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central TX
Posts: 1,629
Thanked 134 Times in 107 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hbsoldier3 View Post
I think he is done after unchecking "Navigation Prompts". But I have a question, is "Audio Information" what you see at the bottom of the NAV screen?
Audio information shows the music channel and song playing across the bottom of the NAV. Waste of space imo, so I disable it. It also has to be disabled to be able to use both the left and right data fields.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Runing nav on mute


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: