Oil Archive (no new posts) An archive of oil related questions and comments.

gas smell in the oil

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 04:33 PM
98glider
Road Warrior
Received 47 Likes on 37 Posts
Default gas smell in the oil

is it possibleforfor there to be gas smell in the oil? Not a strong smell but it is there.I have a 84 ironhead custom sportster. This bike i just got. i have a 98 superglide and never heard of this problem. Your help is needed Thanks Charly

Old 02-14-2008, 05:08 PM
big cahuna
Grand HDF Member
Received 227 Likes on 152 Posts
Default RE: gas smell in the oil

sure. if the bike is setup to run on the rich side, and your rings allow blowby, you could be getting some of what is supposed to be burned in your crankcase. another cause could be if when parked, your float in the carb is set high, and raw gas is dribbling into the cylinder past the rings into the crankcase. I'm no expert but I did stay at a holiday inn express last nite.,,,,,,,,

Old 02-14-2008, 05:48 PM
campincowboy
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Very common on carb bikes, wuth overflow gas leaking through cylinders into oil. Needle and seats in carb may be bad, but turning fuel valve to off anytime not running will usually stop problem. Be sure to change oil soon.

Old 02-14-2008, 08:07 PM
98glider
Road Warrior

I have a s&s carb. Does the oil change color Also can the bike get flooded and eventually get blow by. the bike seems to run good. Is there any other test I can do I don't know much about the S&s carb Thanks again charly

Old 02-14-2008, 08:53 PM
KBFXDLI
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts