Pacific Northwest Washington, Oregon and Idaho

Beginner Routes in Washington

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2018, 03:14 PM
wolverinehusky
Grand HDF Member
Received 6,184 Likes on 2,253 Posts
Default Beginner Routes in Washington

Hey everyone. I recently picked up a 18 Road Glide Ultra. Have had my endorsement for awhile but my background is in dirt bikes in pure offload situations (450s and 750s). However, the new Harley is a huge step up so taking things really slow.

Any suggestions for easy beginner rides in the Greater Seattle area? Still in the break-in as the weather has been crappy. I hit Highway 18 for a little bit, which was pretty easy.

More focused on just some easy switch backs and avoiding drunks, meth heads and road ragers (i.e., I-5 and Highway 2 are out!).

Thanks in advance.

Old 04-05-2018, 05:28 PM
CaptainAwesome
Road Master
Received 216 Likes on 139 Posts

Try the 202 and 203. Other than a couple round-abouts on the 203 it's pretty laid back. There are some other roads that branch off around there that might work for you too, but some may have a bit more gravel than you want to deal with just yet. There are other roads out there but I don't know how far of town you're looking to go just yet and those can take an hour on the freeway just to get out far enough... and you're not going to want to be on the I-5 till you're comfortable on it and it's broken in.

You on the South side or North side? I'm guessing the south since you started with Highway 18.

Keep an eye on your clutch cable too. Mine got loose at 100 miles when I was breaking it in, meaning I couldn't pull the clutch in. I carry 2 small wrenches to tighten it up for a couple hundred miles after anything's been adjusted with it anymore. Did it again when I had the clutch seal replaced under warranty.

Last edited by CaptainAwesome; 04-05-2018 at 05:29 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by CaptainAwesome:
Low budget Dan (04-07-2019), wolverinehusky (04-05-2018)