Pacific Northwest Washington, Oregon and Idaho

Vancouver BC to Suncadia

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2018, 11:31 AM
disasterduke
Advanced
Received 172 Likes on 41 Posts
Default Vancouver BC to Suncadia

Hello. Mid-September I am attending a wedding at Suncadia near Cle Elum. I was planning on riding solo and the wife and kids would drive down in the car. I was hoping to find a nice riding route as I don't really have the appetite to stay on I-5 the whole way. Here is my plan:

Take I-5 then pop in to Sedro-Woolley
Take 9 all the way down to Northwest Snohomish
Take 2 down to Monroe
Take 203 down to I-90
Follow I-90 to Suncadia

I have a few questions. Google says 4.5 hours straight. I'll be stopping to take in the scenery and rest a bit. Make a fun day out of it. How long would you experienced riders give yourself to do this ride? This is my first Harley, but I have over 20 years experience on dirt bikes doing lots of back country rides. So I'm a decent rider. Bike is a 2012 Fatboy with windshield and bags. I can usually go 1.5-2 hours before needing to get off for 10-15 minutes. By the look of google maps, there is lots of cool places to stop and snap a few picks and have a drink of water. Any particularly good stops that are a must see?

Is there any better routes to go? I usually travel by car on the I-5, so am unfamiliar with any other highways in Washington. I'm totally open to changing my route if there is some must see/ride areas.

Thanks in advance for any help/input.

Cheers,
DD

Old 07-20-2018, 08:53 AM
GRWHD
Road Warrior
Received 256 Likes on 207 Posts

What about taking 2 (at Monroe) over to Leavenworth (just past) and then 97 down to Ellensburg (then back track).
Not sure how good 970 is but you could take it to back road some more then 10 to 903 and that would get you close.
Stevens pass is a better ride than Sno Crummy is IMHO.

The following 2 users liked this post by GRWHD:
disasterduke (07-30-2018), RidelikeDale (11-25-2021)