Powdercoat & Paint A place to discuss everything about powder coat and paint for your Harley.

General black paint questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2018, 02:21 PM
Andy614
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default General black paint questions

So I’ve decided to paint my bike (gas tank & fenders) myself. Problem is, I know very little about painting and trust my dads and uncles’ out-dated advice even less! The parts have already been sandblasted and primed at a shop, but I’m shooting the paint myself. I’m painting them plain gloss black. My question is, what paint, clear coat, amount of paint, etc.? Hahaha! I’m clearly starting from absolute beginner but I want to know how to paint because I have a lot of buddies with bikes and stuff, so the knowledge will come in handy.

Last edited by Andy614; 12-10-2018 at 02:36 PM.
Old 12-10-2018, 09:11 PM
CryingJoker
Road Master
Received 238 Likes on 140 Posts

Originally Posted by Andy614
So I’ve decided to paint my bike (gas tank & fenders) myself. Problem is, I know very little about painting and trust my dads and uncles’ out-dated advice even less! The parts have already been sandblasted and primed at a shop, but I’m shooting the paint myself. I’m painting them plain gloss black. My question is, what paint, clear coat, amount of paint, etc.? Hahaha! I’m clearly starting from absolute beginner but I want to know how to paint because I have a lot of buddies with bikes and stuff, so the knowledge will come in handy.