Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

OEM clutch question

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2016, 11:15 AM
Seventy4blazer
Road Master
Received 137 Likes on 45 Posts
Default OEM clutch question

2014 Street Glide with just over 54k miles.

Clutch feels like it is starting to slip a little bit on take off. I have been happy with the stock clutch feel, but did have the SE Heavy clutch spring added at 38k miles when the transmission was warrantied out.

Am I able to just replace the stock friction plates and disks with the basket still in the bike? I do not currently have the tools needed to R/R the entire clutch assembly. I would rather buy the tools than pay the dealer to do it, but IF I can swap out the disks and plates while still in the bike, I would be happy.

OR, what other clutches use the factory basket and are just (mostly) a plate/disk swap?

thanks! I am new in this area.

Old 02-12-2016, 11:28 AM
corliss@bakerdrivetrain.com
Banned
Received 1,856 Likes on 1,287 Posts

You should be able to just change the plates.

Old 02-12-2016, 11:37 AM
Seventy4blazer
Road Master

I should have added that I haven't opened up one of my service manuals to look yet...

thanks Mark for the quick reply.

Old 02-12-2016, 01:08 PM
Campy Roadie
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 5,063 Likes on 2,501 Posts

You absolutely can.

The bolts on the clutch spring are 10 mm. Make sure the bike is in gear wheel on the ground or have somebody hold the brake. They aren't under very much torque. I always soak the new plates in oil before Install.

You'll spend more time taking off the floorboard and outer primary than it'll take to install new plates and readjust the pushrod and cable.