Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

A Sad Story About My Compensator Nut and Some Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2016, 08:56 AM
Vinish
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A Sad Story About My Compensator Nut and Some Questions

Sorry for the length of this but I'm not very good at short messages. I’m very sad today about the bike I have in Michigan. It is a 2006 HD Softail Heritage.It is nothing that fancy but I’ve done afair amount of work to it to “make it mine” including all braided stainlesscables and lines and running the electrical wires internal in the bars and I really love it. It is not my best bike but it is my favorite bike.I bought the bike used early in the summer of2009 with only about 2000 miles on it and it how has about 35,000 miles so thatis an average of about 4100 miles per year which certainly is not a largenumber but not too shabby given our 6 month at best riding season.I have made several long distance 1-2 weeklong trips on it and never had a problem.

On a couple of recent trips, the battery and check enginelight came on. The trouble codeindicated it was a low voltage to the battery.I load tested the battery and it was fine.I went through the process to check the statorand voltage regulator/rectifier and it appeared the stator was bad.Feeling that accessing the stator was a tinybit beyond my abilities and tools, I took it to a local independent shop forstator replacement.