Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Low Transmission fluid...Damage?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2008, 05:45 PM
MI_Jim
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Low Transmission fluid...Damage?

In July I bought a 2007 Ultra classic with 4700 miles on it. The bike came with the balance of a 5 year extended warranty which successfully transferred to me. I took it to one of our two local dealers for an oil change and then the 5k service. The 5k service happened at 6500 miles due to a 3 week wait for an appointment. I took it to the dealer because I wanted to establish a relationship with them in case of any future warranty issues. I figured they'll be more happy to help a known customer than some guy off the street.

Now comes the fun part: I'm a fairly competent backyard mechanic so I decide to do the 10k service myself. The bike currently has 9600 miles on it and it's too nasty to ride today plus my rear tire is getting pretty bad! I have a service manual and pleny of tools so the work isn't too difficult. Anyway, I discover the transmission filler cap/dipstick is very loose, like probably two turns out on the threads. With the bike level on the jack the fluid level is at the "fill" mark. That means with the bike on the side stand like it's supposed to be checked the level would probably be off the stick.

I decided to drain and replace the fluid to be safe. I didn't measure the amount I removed, just drained it into the pan with the primary lube. Wish I had measured it, though (hindsight is usually 20-20).