Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

Black Hills SD night riding

Old 08-09-2016, 04:24 PM
skydude426
Club Member
Received 385 Likes on 221 Posts
Default Black Hills SD night riding

Just read an article that 10 people were injured and 1 is dead in relation to the Sturgis rally. Most of the accidents were from failing to negotiate a turn or colliding with dear.

I'm a life long resident of South Dakota. I've spent a lot of time in the Black Hills and I just wanted to give people a heads up that riding or driving a cage after dark in the hills is hazardous. There are deer everywhere. I learned long ago to try and be where I'm going to spend the night before sundown. I don't like driving a truck or car there after dark let alone a bike.

There are also many tight curves that can catch a person off guard if your not familiar with the roads.

I think the missed curves and deer accidents are completely avoidable and a hospital visit or death is not what any of us want on vacation.

Again, I'm not trying to stand on a soap box, I just want people that may not be familiar with the area to know that tight curves and deer are very real hazards in the hills. It's my favorite place on earth and I hope anyone attending the rally or just visiting has a safe and enjoyable time in our beautiful state.

Ride safe,
Darrin

The following 2 users liked this post by skydude426:
Brit Biker (08-09-2016), Mopar5599 (08-11-2016)
Old 08-09-2016, 06:21 PM
BigDawgQC
Road Warrior

Received 313 Likes on 173 Posts

I don't ride at night anymore mainly due to deer. (unless the blvd at Myrtle or Daytona) I collided with Bambi on the Blue Ridge Parkway 2 years ago and was airlifted more a month in the hospital. About a month ago, we were returning the Blue Ridge on the way home, got dark & we were cruising the Interstate. Came up over a hill & Bambi was standing in the emergency lane. I had heart failure. LOL.

Old 08-09-2016, 08:13 PM