Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your Harley, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

Bob and Cheryl get an all expenses paid road trip to the Black Hills

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2017, 08:10 PM
nevada72
Banned
Received 25,622 Likes on 12,010 Posts
Default Bob and Cheryl get an all expenses paid road trip to the Black Hills

It's true! No prize, just the perks of working for the man!

Little backstory - I sold off my business and took a job for a client as a project manager for medical equipment installation. I got sick of the whole 24/7 work week and the ups and downs of running a small business. I had been doing it for about 15 years and just decided a bi-weekly paycheck would be nice, not to mention bennies and some stability. Hah! Right! But that's another story. This story is about a ride to an account in Sturgis (yes, THAT Sturgis) SD. I needed to be there in June on both sides of a weekend. We have fairly flexible travel options - fly, rent, or drive our own vehicle. I hate flying. Hate it! A rental car would work, but I had other ideas. I talked to Cheryl and asked her if she would like to do a motorcycle work trip - she was all for it. I bounced the idea of riding my bike out there to the boss. The other boss - the one that signs the checks. I prefer full transparency, and the worst she could say was no. Instead she said it sounded "intriguing", and gave me her blessing. Not a huge surprise as the alternative of flying would have costed quite a bit more. So Cheryl and I put together a plan to ride out to Sturgis in June of 2016. The plan was to head out on a Tuesday, and return the following Tuesday - one week on the company. Plus I actually get paid mileage! Not bad.