New Rockford Fosgate Forum - Page 3 - Harley Davidson Forums



Rockford Fosgate Motorcycle Audio for fanatics.

New Rockford Fosgate Forum

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #21  
Old 02-16-2017, 09:13 PM
Bafflingbs's Avatar
Bafflingbs Bafflingbs is offline
Gozer the Traveler
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 462
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Hey guys, I just watched your video for '14+ Streetglide, and I'm even more confused. A.) this wasn't a Streetglide B.) I have HD speaker lids with Boom 1 5x7's installed. C.) I have a Boom 4 channel amp installed
I am replacing that amp, with your tm400x4ad. I am replacing the Boom 6.5 faring speakers with Hertz 6.5's and the saddlebag speakers with Infinty Kappas.
My bike is a '15 SGS and I've ever even seen inside the fairing

I have a few questions:
1.) will the Boom amp wires work with my tm400x4ad?
2.) if there are already speaker wires installed in my saddlebag, running the existing speakers, why would I run new speakers wires?
3.)I've been told, by just about everyone on this forum, that I need the Biketronics line levelers. I bought them, now what? Doesn't this amp defeat the purpose of line levelers? Or, would they make it even better?
4.) what kit do I actually need to install?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-21-2017, 02:08 PM
Rockford Fosgate's Avatar
Rockford Fosgate Rockford Fosgate is offline
Platinum Sponsor
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hi Bafflingbs,

I'll try to answer your questions through this forum, but you may want to contact our technical support (1-800-669-9899) for detailed info:

1) NO, the BOOM wiring will not work with the TM400X4ad.

2) Our speaker harness is not designed for saddle bags, they are designed for the Tour-Pak speakers.

3) The Biketronics line levelers are passive level reducers with a passive network that attempts to compensate for the excessive bass boost. In our experience, we would rather turn the BASS down on the radio and use the high level inputs built into the amplifier. Using the Biketronics line levelers is 50% redundant with the TM400X4ad high-level input circuit

4) Rockford Fosgate currently doesn't have a kit for rear saddle bag speakers like you want.

Ideally if you were to install a Rockford Fosgate kit, you would wind up removing all the BOOM! audio related parts.
__________________
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:23 AM
troysterRG troysterRG is offline
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: milwaukee, wi
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default "yes they will"

i recently (8 months ago) installed the rockford fosgate 6 3/4 speakers in the front fairing of my RG, which in directions or ad,they will not fit,hmmmmm sounds like a challenge, well they will and yes its a tight fit but with some modification of speaker mount rings they will.just have to be patient. and i also installeded the rockford fosgate 6x9 in bag lids. went and sent all my stereo stuff to my guru who tested it all and says for what i have its very adjustable and as he puts very F'in load as F. i do apologize to RF that i did not use their amp, i am usig a soundstream amp,everything is 2ohm and yeah at 100mph you here just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-22-2017, 12:09 PM
Laybac101's Avatar
Laybac101 Laybac101 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Magalia CA
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 16 sg

I bought the RFKHD kit and need some additional pigtails. Does RF sell them?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-24-2017, 08:16 PM
NyghtRyder NyghtRyder is offline
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

New member here. I bought the RF HD14-TKIT from their site about a week ago. $1,074 after shipping. I have read around this forum that the dealership needed to flash the radio on my 2015 RGS. I had an appointment set up to take it in before installing the kit, but I called RF support to ask which specific flash was needed. They said the dealerships could no longer flash the headunit. Instead I will have to travel over 2 hours away and spend an additional $180 for a car audio place to flash my headunit with specific RF software. I sure hope this is all worth it. Over $1,250 is a bit steep and if Harley ever reflashes my headunit I would need another RF flash.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-25-2017, 03:41 PM
DirectCycleParts.com's Avatar
DirectCycleParts.com DirectCycleParts.com is offline
Sponsor
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default H-D Radio Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyghtRyder View Post
New member here. I bought the RF HD14-TKIT from their site about a week ago. $1,074 after shipping. I have read around this forum that the dealership needed to flash the radio on my 2015 RGS. I had an appointment set up to take it in before installing the kit, but I called RF support to ask which specific flash was needed. They said the dealerships could no longer flash the headunit. Instead I will have to travel over 2 hours away and spend an additional $180 for a car audio place to flash my headunit with specific RF software. I sure hope this is all worth it. Over $1,250 is a bit steep and if Harley ever reflashes my headunit I would need another RF flash.
Any independent shop with TechnoResearch or Diag4Bike software can also flash your radio. We do it all the time.

You just need to find out from Rockford, what flash your set up needed, and those 2 programs can do it. They should be able to tell you what Harley would flash, based on what all you are running on your bike. (example: 2 speakers front, no rear speakers, amp 1: yes, amp 2: yes [etc...])

Also, if anyone needs any Rockford Fosgate, we have them in stock at great prices. Just give us a call and we can hook you up.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-25-2017, 03:43 PM
DirectCycleParts.com's Avatar
DirectCycleParts.com DirectCycleParts.com is offline
Sponsor
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OH yea. Also, we can flash your radio for $75 (that includes return shipping). Just call us to set it up and let us know what you need it flashed for, and send it in. All we need is the head unit.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate Joins HD Forums Rockford Fosgate Audio Systems 173 10-31-2016 05:29 PM
Rockford Fosgate Power Front Audio Kits - in stock! DirectCycleParts.com Vendor For Sale Classifieds 1 10-19-2016 09:52 AM
Rockford Fosgate at Sturgis Rockford Fosgate Vendor For Sale Classifieds 5 08-05-2016 12:39 PM
WTB: Rockford Fosgate PBR300X4 Amp sprint12 Want To Buy Motorcycles/Parts/Accessories 0 05-31-2016 01:45 PM
Rockford Fosgate Sturgis 2015 Rockford Fosgate Audio Systems 1 08-14-2015 07:56 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send