Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Shovelhead (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/shovelhead-62/)
-   -   Anybody know what frame this is? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/shovelhead/1118012-anybody-know-what-frame-this-is.html)

jozmr 05-25-2016 09:02 PM

Anybody know what frame this is?

https://cimg4.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.hdf...2bb0f305b1.png

What type of frame is this? I know it is a 79' shovelhead.<br/>

I know it's a 79' shovel. However, I need help identifying if it is a wishbone or straight leg frame. Also, is it an fxe, flh or other. Any help would be much appreciated as I am a newbie and want to get a frame like this. Thanks!

Racepres 05-25-2016 10:23 PM

Since I think I see the VIN tab [flat] on the downtube by the neck...I'll say it may be a Haifley Brothers weld-on hardtail on a stock frame.
Otherwise someone cut the shit out of a '57.

jozmr 05-25-2016 10:35 PM

So are you saying that this may have started as a softail and once the Haifley kit was welded on it became a hardtail? Also, by cutting a '57 frame would it have been made so that the new frame would be smaller or bigger?

TwiZted Biker 05-25-2016 10:37 PM

Looks like a stock 70's frame with a weld on hardtail section, did that to a few of them.

ccislander 05-25-2016 10:42 PM

Never mind. By the time I got my response done, you had your answer.
What racepres and TwiZted Biker said!

jozmr 05-25-2016 10:45 PM

Originally Posted by TwiZted Biker (Post 15180501)
Looks like a stock 70's frame with a weld on hardtail section, did that to a few of them.

Awesome! so is it likely that the frame may have started as a softail?

Racepres 05-25-2016 10:48 PM

Originally Posted by jozmr (Post 15180523)
Awesome! so is it likely that the frame may have started as a softail?

No...It was probably a Swingarm frame of the late '70's vintage.
what are the numbers on that flat spot below the steering stem?

jozmr 05-25-2016 10:49 PM