Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

1980 FLT clutch

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2017, 11:21 AM
scooter1128
Road Captain

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Default 1980 FLT clutch

I'm doing my first work on a 1980 FLT. Only Harleys I've owned have been late models so I've never worked on a shovel before and probably doubting myself in what I'm doing. I am competent with a wrench, just not familiar with this era and I want to learn!! when I got this, the primary was empty and was told it needed clutches replaced.
I'm reading in the HD manual that oil drips in on the primary chain and I don't see a fluid amount for primary. So, no adding oil to primary? Do I soak clutch disc in primary fluid or no? Can I remove the disc without pulling the clutch basket? I've tried looking for videos and haven't found much on these. Any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated. I'd like to get this ole bike back in good shape

Old 04-25-2017, 11:25 AM
honestcharlie56
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

That bike originally had the primary and the main chain included in the engine oiling system. Primary had a oil inlet on top of the chain and then a hole at the bottom to drain back. I have an 80' FLT too, mine has since been sealed up. Alot of people didn't like that system so they "removed" it. Its actually not a bad system though.

Old 04-25-2017, 11:35 AM
scooter1128
Road Captain

So do you add primary fluid to bottom of derby cover?

Old 04-25-2017, 12:18 PM
RKGDCG03
Road Warrior

Received 535 Likes on 378 Posts

No. It is a dry clutch.

Old 04-25-2017, 01:04 PM
V_twins
Road Captain
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts

Originally Posted by RKGDCG03
No. It is a dry clutch.
Dry clutch uses oil in the primary too, just not as much as a wet primary

Old 04-25-2017, 02:31 PM
RKGDCG03
Road Warrior

Received 535 Likes on 378 Posts

Originally Posted by V_twins
Dry clutch uses oil in the primary too, just not as much as a wet primary