Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

New shovelhead owner/ need help

Old 08-05-2017, 05:26 PM
looneytoon
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New shovelhead owner/ need help

Hi guys, new young owner from canada here.
I just inheritated a 1980 fxs shovel. It was my grandfather,s bike before he passed and it hasnt seen road in years. Last year he rode it was 07 for 2 small rides and god know when was thr last time before that.

it runs excellent and everything but first thing i noticed was a small oil leak under the belt cover(i thought, to my surprise there was a chain!). What i am wondering is if there should be oil in there and how much, if there is a gage etc.

i am new to harley ownership i have only had sportbikes in my life so almost 0 knowledge.

Old 08-05-2017, 07:46 PM
johnjzjz
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,522 Likes on 2,865 Posts

well the first thing you need to do is come to the understanding that shovelheads are a great 3rd bike

they require care a jap bike has never thought about and money

my guess your trans seal is leaking sitting 10 years it not going to be the only leak

you need to invest in the ( factory workshop and parts manual ) as asking for help and knowing what a part is called will help Big

again if your not handy you need a fat wallet - it will be an adventure to own one and it will keep you awake at night at times - but that become all part of owning it

Attached Thumbnails New shovelhead owner/ need help-80-16729208_10154952394534882_5624147450571679463_n_d2e61cd9b17d417f7c09606ffeb6a4c77958f7e4.jpg  
Old 08-05-2017, 08:05 PM
hell hound
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 128 Likes on 106 Posts