Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Rebuilding dads shovel

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2018, 11:48 AM
Tanner A
Advanced
Received 12 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Rebuilding dads shovel

How goes it every one really glad I found this forum! So a little back story. My dad j

ust passed away 2 weeks ago and he left me his most prized possession. His motorcycle a 1980 FLH shovelhead engine on a paco frame that he built from the ground up in 1982. I grew up riding on the back of this bike my soul is attached to it lol. 15 years ago the bike broke down idk why or what happened and he parked it. He started working on it for awhile but life happens and it never got finished. Unfortunately it sat apart in a rundown shed until 6 days ago when I rescued it lol now this bike what you would call a basket case in every way! I have parts in milk crates, boxes and file cabinets all mixed together some new some old lol but the engine itself looks dang good for sitting for so long! I’m no professional by any means but I’m no dum dum either when it comes to turning a wrench. I have multiple manuals for the bike too but any tips tricks ideas or advice is greatly appreciated. Pics are of what the bike looked like when it was built the way my dad wanted so so badly to bring back to life and of my tear down so far please tell me what y’all think

The way dad built his bike originally the way I want it to look

. Thanks for reading every one

The following 2 users liked this post by Tanner A:
Jackman the second (05-04-2021), roadrunner1414 (05-04-2021)
Old 11-24-2018, 11:55 AM
Bubby
Cruiser
Received 90 Likes on 49 Posts

Good luck on the re-build. I was in the same position as you a couple years ago, take your time and do things the right way. It's worth it in the end.
ps. Bitchin looking ride too!!

Old 11-24-2018, 12:12 PM
hellonewman
Club Member
Received 5,735 Likes on 2,471 Posts