Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Day 1 with my totally fixed up '74 - stalling and popping

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2019, 06:26 PM
Gribbs
Novice
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Day 1 with my totally fixed up '74 - stalling and popping

I'm new to bikes in general and today was my first ride on my new '74 FLH. A shop did $4k worth of work on it, including top end rebuild, wiring, hoses, brakes, carb work, you name it. ,and I'm wondering if you can tell me what is normal and what is not about my first ride observations today:

The bike generally wants it to be getting some gas at all times when I'm at slower engine speeds in each gear. Even if I am doing 20mph in second or 3rd gear, it has been dying if I come off the throttle for two long. Maybe I should definitely be in second and not third and it is lugging? I have the stock hidden internal cables from the factory, and I'm told that they never return the throttle to zero themselves. The bike also won't sit and idle without that throttle being turned a bit to keep feeding fuel to the carb when it is sitting in neutral in a driveway. Seems unusual to me.

I seemed to get more pops after an hour ride, and again, the bike stalled on me at low speed. Maybe I was in third gear - Would it stall because I should have been in second gear at that low speed? It seems to happen when I am approaching a stop or a turn most, but I swear that i have the clutch in, I'm gearing down, and why would I be giving gas at that point, unless this engine also needs some gas to it. If it was a usual issue of not using the clutch well in first gear like anyone new to driving something with a manual trans, I'd understand that sort of stalling for sure. But this??