Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

77 Puking oil and missing line?

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2014, 10:22 PM
bagged92sdime
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 77 Puking oil and missing line?

Hey, so sorry if this is a dumb question. I am somewhat new to working on motorcycles and completely new to working on Harleys.

Today I went for my first ride on my 77 FLH that my dad built when I was little. Just got it registered and insured. Everything was fine until it seemed to slide a couple times, then I noticed oil everywhere. Immediately went home. There is a trail of oil that you can follow half way across town from it puking oil.

Fired it up to see where it was coming from and saw a port on the oil pump that does not have a line on it and it's spraying oil out! I think this might be the breather port, but not entirely sure. In any case, I don't think it should be dumping out that much oil from the breather (even if there is no line). Any ideas what's going on here and how to fix it?

Here's a pic of my bike and a pic of the port on the oil pump.

Old 08-31-2014, 01:34 AM
bagged92sdime
Intermediate

I also noticed earlier that the vent tube coming off of the carb was dripping gas. I shut the fuel off. Just went and checked, no more drips. Decided to check oil (checked it before the ride today and it was full in the tank), couldn't see any in the tank and it's not registering on the dip stick. Plus there is some oil pooled in the exhaust at the tips. So on top of the massive leak, it also looks like it's using alot more oil than I thought.

Old 08-31-2014, 09:24 AM
FL54
Road Master
Received 423 Likes on 290 Posts

Originally Posted by bagged92sdime
Hey, so sorry if this is a dumb question. I am somewhat new to working on motorcycles and completely new to working on Harleys.