EVO All Evo Model Discussion

98 Heritage suspension issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2017, 08:52 AM
coolbrz64
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Heritage suspension issues

Hi all....first off I'm sure some of this info is already in threads but I don't have a month or 2 to search them all so....looking for ideas and advice. I am a 20+ yr veteran of riding but am on my first Harley. My 98 Heritage Classic has been modded a little and lowered. I like the look but I'm too heavy (I think, 6' 250#) for the lowered suspension. First, the rear shocks are shot to begin with and I am looking where to turn.

I live in NC, I am an aggressive rider due to my old days on crotch rockets and ride mountain territory almost always therefore I have lean angle and grinding issues. I grind the lower pipe, floor boards, bottom out frame on humps and dips in the road....sometimes when entering a bridge, those small humps between the asphalt and concrete just slam my frame.....I am tired of all this and looking for advice on suspension changes. I understand my bike isn't quite made for my riding style but I like it and plan on keeping it and can't afford a 2nd bike. My lower pipe is about 1/3 closed from dragging and I have actually picked the rear wheel up off the road from leaning in too hard.....yes, makes you pucker a little.

I am curious about different shock attributes and what all everyone has done in similar circumstances. Factory shocks raised to max height? Progressive shocks to "hold" the ride height better? Air shocks? What y'all got?

Old 09-21-2017, 02:56 PM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,852 Likes on 2,419 Posts

Shocks are a popular subject all around HDF, but I confess not noticing many options for softails. It may be worth visiting the Softail section to take a look, all quiet like, to see what they know over there.