2014-2023 Touring Models This Section Is For Rushmore/2014-2023 Touring Models
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you know if a wheel bearing is bad?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2017, 09:09 PM
Greg2012FLHTK
Road Warrior
Received 54 Likes on 43 Posts
Default How do you know if a wheel bearing is bad?

I bought a used 16 Road Glide Ultra with 14,041 miles on it from a used motorcycle dealer in Dallas, TX today and road it 510 miles home to Independence, Mo. I had ear plugs in all but the last 30 miles. Didn't hear anything unusual with the ear plugs in. But as soon as I started riding without the ear plugs I heard a fairly loud jet engine sound coming from the front of the bike. Only hear it when moving. I can rev the motor up when stopped and it's not there. Does this sound like a bad front wheel bearing? Bike is still under the factory warranty until June of 18. Just trying to get an idea of what it might be.

Last edited by Greg2012FLHTK; 10-14-2017 at 09:35 PM.
Old 10-14-2017, 10:16 PM
bad tappets
Road Warrior
Received 405 Likes on 326 Posts

A bad bearing usually sounds like rocks rolling around in a coffee can, not a jet engine. I had a wheel bearing go south, sounded like a leather strap hitting metal.

Jet engine sound - maybe a brake dragging?

Old 10-14-2017, 10:43 PM
Eagle Keeper
Intermediate
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Sounds like brake shoe dragging.
Could be disk warpage that causes the shoe dragging.