Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Passed my MSF course this weekend!

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2018, 07:28 AM
SCGamecock
Cruiser
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Passed my MSF course this weekend!

I have never had any type of formal riding training. Up until now I was a self taught dirt bike and sport bike rider. I learned a good bit of things I either did not know or was doing wrong. I passed the skills test although I still struggled a little with tight right hand turns and of course the U-turn especially to the right!! I still am not getting my head around far enough and holding it high and still staring at that last damn cone on exit!!! I aced the written exam. Although I already have my endorsement it was still very worthwhile to take the course.

I am a little worried about how my new skills and knowledge will translate to my Ultra Limited. The training bikes were small HD 500cc models. They were light and much more maneuverable even though at 6'4" 250 I looked like a monkey sitting on a football!!! There was a Ride Like a Pro class this past weekend that I had been considering but I am glad now I took the 4 day MSF class first. I'm not ready for the RLP class, I don't have enough low speed maneuvering confidence yet. Hopefully I will gain that with more seat time and parking lot practice.

I recommend to anyone new or experienced to take this class. There were several long term riders that struggled on some skills. Also, the class is $350 but now through September 1st it costs $99 for Active duty service members, veterans, Fire and Police. That made it even more worthwhile to take! Go to the HD website and fill out the promo offer and they will send you a coupon code to take to the dealership. Even spouses get the discount. I think my wife will be taking the class.