Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Audio questions

Old 04-23-2019, 12:54 PM
Disturbed724
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Audio questions

Howdy audio gurus,
I'm new to the motorcycle audio world. I have a 2017 SGS. I'm wondering what it would take to add an amp and upgrade my speakers to my setup. I really don't want to break the bank. Is there kits for easy plug and play. Any recommendations for great sounding systems at high speeds? Any advice or even a checklist would be awesome! Thanks I. Advance all. Have a great day!

Old 04-23-2019, 03:54 PM
IArider1
Cruiser
Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts

No amp speaker setup is truly plug and play. You still have to pull the fairing, seat and tank to run all the wiring and pull off the speaker pods from inside the fairing to install new speakers. Rockford fosgate's front kit doesn't sound too bad from the few I've heard. There are companies out there that will prewire and pre tune your amp, Garage Bagger Stereo being one of them. One of the things a lot of the guys here will tell you is that if you ever think you might want to upgrade further to either lids or lowers, is to get a good 4 channel amp. Myself I just installed 2 mmats 601cx and a mmats 4410 amplifier. I have zero problems hearing it going down the interstate doing 80. It will actually over power my friends stock setup when he is riding next to me.

The other thing you need to decide is are you going to change the head unit. If you don't you will have to get a line lever to tie into the stock head unit.

The following users liked this post:
Disturbed724 (04-24-2019)
Old 04-23-2019, 04:10 PM
Disturbed724
Cruiser