Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What may be the real cause of HD's problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2019, 10:07 AM
cwsharp
Stellar HDF Member
Received 151 Likes on 111 Posts
Default What may be the real cause of HD's problems

I have been riding for 56 years. I do long rides whenever I can... this summer I was going to ride the Pacific Coast Highway from San Diego to Seattle... and for the first time in my life I cut off the ride. On the first day in Utah a &(*^@)*&% tourist in an RV passed three trucks (apparently frustrated with road construction that had a 1 mile long pile of cars held up waiting for the other mile to clear the construction) and tried to kill me head on. I rode the white line on the road edge and managed to keep the bike upright and avoid the idiot. The second day I had to drop the bike due to a road condition in AZ where gravel coated with oil "looks like" paving. Throughout the ride road conditions on Interstates and State Roads, and bad drivers and traffic loads were a continual harassment. The wind was 25-35 with gusts to 55 and was continual every day. The West US was having "abnormal" spring weather every day but one. I gave up near L.A. and headed back to Provo in the same conditions. Even on the 2 days that the sun made an appearance the wind was borderline unsafe for riding directly into it (70 + 55 = 125 mph... a hurricane). On the way back to home I hit rain, sleet, and snow... and it was mid May!