Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FXR models and newer engine fitment?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2012, 02:00 PM
Fishyhead
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FXR models and newer engine fitment?

Hey folks, pretty new to these forums, and I've been out of the business for over 10 years. Allow me to preface, that I worked in the business from franchise dealerships to even owning an aftermarket hd shop as well as just wrenching in the garage from the early 80's to late 90's. Divorce cost me everything so I've been out of it.

I'm now considering getting a bike again. I prefer the old FXR frame over the Dyna. I always like the better handling FXR, the lighter weight, short wheelbase, and twisting the throttle hard on them was always fun.

So my question now is, if buying a used FXR frame bike, will any of the dual cam motors fit this frame and do they hold the same rear motor mounting to trans position?

I haven't looked into any of it at all tbh. Just trying to get an idea as there is no shot that if I did buy an FXR that I would keep stock displacement. I can however build/design motors from scratch ( I wouldn't buy a shop built kit motor), so buying S&S or Delkron cases etc to build a motor for said frame isn't an issue.

Thanks for your responses.

Old 10-27-2012, 02:37 PM
MattcW78
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Delkron makes evo style cases that take twin cam top ends. I think they are called fatsos or something. I am not an engine builder and dont know any one who has done it but it looks like a good way to get a big powerful evo

Old 10-27-2012, 02:46 PM
Fishyhead
2nd Gear

Thanks Matt, I'll look into it. So I guess they are no longer calling the HD motors evo's either?