Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Softail Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/softail-models-7/)
-   -   Ultima drop in 6-speed gear set woes.... (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/softail-models/1151460-ultima-drop-in-6-speed-gear-set-woes.html)

Michael yaRoberts 12-27-2016 12:44 PM

Ultima drop in 6-speed gear set woes....

I'm having problems with my Ultima slide in kit...it upshifts like a dream..but won't downshift for shit...clunks and shifts into neutral in every gear....you have to double tap every downshift...was installed at Tripps Harley Davidson in Amarillo..they can't Figure it out...told me if have to live with it the way it is...it sux the way it is...I'm no mechanic...but the directions from Ultima seem to be straight forward....can't figure out why three Tripps to the shop and they gave up and said it won't get better than it is...I know these aren't the most expensive kits...but I just feel something hasn't been done properly.

QC 12-27-2016 12:47 PM

Hmmm. After watching a Baker DD6 install video, I would think that the shifter pawl is out of adjustment. I don't know if there is an adjustment on the Ultima though.
Have you contacted Ultima?

corliss@bakerdrivetrain.com 12-27-2016 01:03 PM

Originally Posted by QC (Post 15785722)
Hmmm. After watching a Baker DD6 install video, I would think that the shifter pawl is out of adjustment. I don't know if there is an adjustment on the Ultima though.
Have you contacted Ultima?

:icon_ditto: That would be my guess as well.

Da-Rza 21 12-27-2016 10:09 PM

has to be out of adjustment used plenty of ultima motors & trannys never an issue with either one...even with a 127 & 147

tmilo1000 12-28-2016 10:42 AM