Notices
Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2006 Night Train - o2 Sensor question

 
  #1  
Old 05-09-2017, 11:56 AM
Staggie
Staggie is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 103
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2006 Night Train - o2 Sensor question

Been looking around for a while, and usually I can search to find all the answers that I need.

I have a 2006 Night Train with Vance & Hines short shot exhaust and currently have a Arlen Ness Big Sucker air cleaner. I am about to install a HD Heavy Breather instead. Being I have the above, I have noticeable popping on the decelerate/downshift. I also have a HD SE Super Pro Tuner (Orange).

I am pretty sure being my 06 didn't come with o2 sensors, I can install them on the two pipes in order to do a tune without a dyno. Looking into the exhaust, I see the bungs and I "assume" these are 18mm bungs.

My question is, which o2 would I need as I search and I cannot find out that says "This part fits". Want to make sure I purchase the correct part.

Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 05-09-2017, 12:44 PM
hog-doc's Avatar
hog-doc
hog-doc is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ID Ho
Posts: 2,004
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Your engine management system doesnt use them, adding them to the pipe will just be expensive hole fillers!
You need to adjust the map to eliminate as much of the decel pop as the pipes will allow, with short shots you may never get rid of all of it!
 

Last edited by hog-doc; 05-09-2017 at 12:47 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Staggie (05-12-2017)
  #3  
Old 05-10-2017, 06:01 AM
Oz Nightrain's Avatar
Oz Nightrain
Oz Nightrain is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 604
Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

This is how I converted my 06.
 
Attached Thumbnails 2006 Night Train - o2 Sensor question-photo737.jpg   2006 Night Train - o2 Sensor question-photo669.jpg  
The following users liked this post:
Staggie (05-12-2017)
  #4  
Old 05-10-2017, 10:01 AM
nhrider1
nhrider1 is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 1,566
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Oz Nightrain View Post
This is how I converted my 06.
Oz Nightrain is correct. You can convert an 06 to run with O2 sensors. You have to run a few wires to the ECM to make it recognize the O2 sensors.
 
The following users liked this post:
Staggie (05-12-2017)
  #5  
Old 05-12-2017, 07:42 AM
Staggie
Staggie is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 103
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Thanks.. OZ Nightrain and nhrider1. I thought it was possible, but haven't dug into it as of yet. Guess we'll see what happens when I install the Heavy Breather this weekend.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-2017, 08:05 AM
teebeejek
teebeejek is offline
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 58
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I'd consider a DK Custom 636v with the external breather system of your choice over the Heavy Breather. If you haven't looked, take a look. I think you can get the same size filter and use the rain sock from HD if you like that look.

I like mine on my '05 Nightrain.
 
  #7  
Old 05-07-2019, 09:42 PM
DRKRD-MIA's Avatar
DRKRD-MIA
DRKRD-MIA is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Live Free or Die
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hey guys, reading through Oz’s attachments, and after some Google-fu, I understand the 2 pages are from the TTS Mastertune documentation. It’s clear you need to install the o2 sensors and wire them to the ECM. But it looks like you must reflash the (2005/2006) ECM with a ‘level 176 calibration’ Mastertune map in order to actually turn on the o2 sensor functionality in the ECM. I found a listing of the Mastertune maps, and it makes sense as all the 176 maps state they have o2 sensors.

So a couple questions...

- I have an orange-box SEPST. It appears the naming for the maps files for the SEPST are very similar to the naming of the Mastertune maps, so I assume the tuners were made by the same manufacturer. Anyways, for my 06 Train, to turn on the o2 sensor functionality, can I use my SEPST to reflash my ECM with an appropriate map for an 2006 softail 1450 (SE intake / SE II slip ons) which clearly states it has o2 sensors? I believe I did find one, I just can’t recall the map name right now...I’ll look it up. I do realize the 07 Train increased from 88ci to 95ci. Assuming I should not use an 07 Train map?

- Regarding the physical wiring to the ECM—how hard is it to do? It seems the most challenging bit would be installing the new pins (8 and 23) in the OEM ECM connector?

My end goal for doing the conversation would be to finally be able to use the smart-tune functionality of the SEPST to properly tune for the V&H pipes I’m about to install.

Thanks to Oz for his post and to anyone for any guidance with this.
 

Last edited by DRKRD-MIA; 05-07-2019 at 10:15 PM.
  #8  
Old 05-29-2019, 08:35 AM
Oz Nightrain's Avatar
Oz Nightrain
Oz Nightrain is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 604
Received 38 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

PM sent
 
  #9  
Old 05-29-2019, 09:41 AM
XARAN's Avatar
XARAN
XARAN is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,052
Likes: 0
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Might be a lot easier to change to a tuner that incorporates O2 Sensors like the Thunder Max. No wiring to do their unit is plug and play if you have sensors and then auto tunes

https://www.fuelmotousa.com/series-1...auto-tune.html
 
  #10  
Old 05-30-2019, 07:34 AM
DRKRD-MIA's Avatar
DRKRD-MIA
DRKRD-MIA is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Live Free or Die
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by XARAN View Post
Might be a lot easier to change to a tuner that incorporates O2 Sensors like the Thunder Max. No wiring to do their unit is plug and play if you have sensors and then auto tunes

https://www.fuelmotousa.com/series-1...auto-tune.html
Does this completely replace the OEM ECM? Meaning, itís not a piggyback which takes ECM output and modified it?

Edit: confirmed, it does replace the ECM.

A little pricey but thanks for the alternate option.
 

Last edited by DRKRD-MIA; 05-30-2019 at 08:00 AM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2006 Night Train - o2 Sensor question


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: