Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Two of the easiest things I've done to my bike - and a story about lame *** HD Techs.

Old 02-03-2009, 01:01 PM
hellfish
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Two of the easiest things I've done to my bike - and a story about lame *** HD Techs.

1. Adjusting my clutch
2. Installing the Aux Running lights

Two of the easiest fixes I've done to my bike ...and a story about lame HD Techs

(keep in mind I'm just learning - new bike)

The running lights were almost too easy, plug and play adapter and two red turn signals in the back. I can hardly brag about doing that, but I was surpised how easy it was to pop on.

The clutch comes with a story about how lame HD Techs can be ...
I took my bike in for the 1K service (was quoted $275 and they charged me $350) When I rode off I notice that my clutch was REALLY hard to squeeze, was opened wider that it was when I brought it in, and my friction zone had been reduced to the last 1/4' of a wide open clutch. I didnt know what had changed so I took it back to HD. They said it was adjusted right and that I just needed to get used to it. (and was a total sarcastic d1ckhead about it)

I took them at their word and rode off, clutch still bugged me so I started looking up how to adjust clutch on teh internet (service book is my next purchase, I couldn't afford on right now) I found out what I needed to know and it turns out that the techs and tightened my clutch cable all the way in and then some. There was no gap at all between the level and the housing and was overly tight. I read that the service manual says to keep a 1/8" gap between the lever ..or the size of a dime. I adjusted my cable to my liking (witch was VERY easy to do) ... the gap is about 2 nickles wide. Now my friction zone is more towards a full gripped clutch and its MUCH easier to pull.