Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Softail Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/softail-models-7/)
-   -   Black Denim Paint,,, Need Help All Replies are welcome, Thank You in Advance !!! (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/softail-models/578009-black-denim-paint-need-help-all-replies-are-welcome-thank-you-in-advance.html)

Augito1979 10-31-2010 03:09 AM

Black Denim Paint,,, Need Help All Replies are welcome, Thank You in Advance !!!

I'm new here and been looking for post or threads about the Black Denim Paint. Im a mechanic, repo Agent, tow truck operator and dabble a little in body work and finishing such as detailing wet sanding and buffing paint.

My question is how do you maintain this paint. I wouldnt wanna throw some wax and make it shiny,,, but as in any paint if you dont put some type of protection on it then the paint will oxidize or fade. Is there a wax or Glaze that can be put on this paint to protect it,,, it will be stored inside but I wanna go to shows and ride as much as possible.

I went to a Harley Dealership, dont wanna mention no names and I was told you have to wash these with a mild soap or with windex. Soap and Windex are degreasers, and not sure what the factory puts on the finish of the Black Denim paint jobs once there doneand shipped. Im in between the Denim Black and the Brilliant Silver Pearl. Anyone who can help would be greatly appreciated,,, my heart is set on the Black Denim, but if I cant wax or put some kind of protection then I dont want it I'll get the Brilliant Silver Pearl. Please get back to me on here or at my e-mail Augito1979@yahoo.com,,, Thank You all in advance !!!:icon_headbang:

brettnbama 10-31-2010 08:09 AM