Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Deuce vs. Wide Glide/Street Bob

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2011, 11:11 AM
thebeginning
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Deuce vs. Wide Glide/Street Bob

So I'm hoping to buy my first Harley in the next few months, and am trying to decide what I'm looking for.

I'm looking to spend around 10k, so I had only looked at used Dynas. However, I just started seeing some Softail Deuces pop up, and really, really like the look of them.

I'm a newb with the Softail line, so while I know the suspension differences, I don't know the differences in horsepower, ride-ability, etc.

My end goal is to have a chopper-styled bike, with a performance upgrade through a PCV, Stage 3, bigger air intake, and new pipes (Big radius), and a 'look' upgrade with a bobbed back fender, lowered rear end, slim solo seat, and 14" apes. Possibly a rake of the front, but even more than the wide glide.

Any Deuce owners that have also rode some Dynas want to chip in?

What major differences will there be in the stock bikes, and would I be able to mod them both for the same effort/money?

Thanks!

Old 06-26-2011, 11:21 AM
klf33
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts

Dyna's are hard'er to mod in certain ways and easier in others
Dyna's are hard in
- putting a smaller chopped tank (their frame is butt ugly and need to be covered.
- finding mutli fit necks, front ends without modifications.
-relocating coils and battery to lower seats.
Easier in
- Performance parts (really really good performance for both engines and cornering).
- If you black out the suspension with progressive or the likes the bike looks bad ***
- Easier to turn 'rigid' by just adding struts and convert back if you like, while in a softail this is a major 'weld' remove everything procedure and ir-reversable.