Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil Change Advise-08 Rocker

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2008, 08:33 PM
deadduck357
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil Change Advise-08 Rocker

I got the filter, gaskets and oil. By the way this is my first time on a Harley. Its an 08 Rocker. I have to get er done before Sat. so I dont have time to order a service manual. Was told by dealership it takes 5 quarts, friend said 3. How many quarts does it take ? Dealership also said the clutch needs to be checked/adjusted, would this be internally or externally ? Dealership said I have to remove the Derby cover to drain the oil ??? I see a drain plug underneath, is there not three ? Where are all the drain points ? Any other checks/adjustments should me done ?
Is Mobile 1 V-Twin OK for trans ? Thanks.

Old 11-19-2008, 09:42 PM
danike
Advanced

Engine 3 qts. trans and primary take 1 qt. each. You have to remove the derby cover to fill the primary. Trans drain plug on the bottom of trans between the rear shocks. Engine oil drain plug on right side of frame in a recess in front of rear tire. All plugs should have 1/4 allen and 5/8 hex heads on them. Clutch can be adjusted in the cable and the clutch pack. Cable should have 1/8 gap up by handlebar between cable and clutch lever housing. Theres a good clutch adjustment procedure on this forum if you want to adjust the clutch pack. I run Mobil 1 20w50 in the engine and primary and Mobil1 75w140 gear lube in the trans.

Old 11-19-2008, 10:18 PM
tmitchellof PG
Elite HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Old 11-19-2008, 10:43 PM
m i k e
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

dont f it up dude
good luck let us know how ya did

Old 11-20-2008, 09:52 AM
whylee
Road Warrior
Received 343 Likes on 244 Posts