Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing Rear Brake Pads on a 2012 FLSTFB Harley Davidson Fat Boy Lo

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2012, 12:02 AM
kevinha
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing Rear Brake Pads on a 2012 FLSTFB Harley Davidson Fat Boy Lo

I wanted to write this for anyone who, like me, is used to having professionals perform routine service on their vehicles, especially their motorcycles. I'm not a mechanic, nor do I pretend to even know what I'm talking about. However, I set a goal this weekend of changing my own rear brake pads on my 2012 FLSTFB Fat Boy Lo. I'm rather neurotic about instructions, proper tooling, etc. for any work where I'm out of my comfort zone, so included for your reading pleasure is a rather detailed list of parts, tools and notes.

I hope you can benefit from my learning and that my contribution here will help others, just as the previous contributions helped me get this job done.

Of particular note, I spent more time researching and driving around - probably close to 2 hours - searching for the proper socket to remove the pad pin than the 20 minutes I spent on the actual job itself.

So without further ado …
  • Part # / Manufacturer / Item / Cost / Notes
  • 42298-08 / H-D / BRAKE PAD SET REAR / $49.95
  • 99953-99A / H-D DOT 4 BREAK FLUID / $7.95 / Could buy at an auto supply store for about 1/2 the price
  • 99482-12A / H-D / SOFTAIL MODELS 2012 H-D SERVICE MANUAL / $60.00
  • GENERIC / 3" C-CLAMP/$6.99
  • GENERIC / ROLL OF SHOP TOWELS/$2.49
  • 50612 / CRAFTSMAN/1/4-IN. DRIVE 1/4-IN. 12PT SOCKET/$3.79/To remove/install pad pin; found at Sears
  • 44807 / CRAFTSMAN / 1/4-IN. RATCHET / To remove/install pad pin
  • 42665 / CRAFTSMAN / 3/8-IN. DRIVE T-40 TORX SOCKET / $6.49 / To remove/install mounting bolt & slider pin