Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why did Harley stop making Springers?

Old 09-11-2012, 10:28 PM
magazine
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why did Harley stop making Springers?

I'm very new at the Harley scene and honestly didnt know Harley had stopped making their Springers. I was looking at the Harley website today, the 2007 model lineup showed the Softail Springer was a bit less expensive than the Heritage Softail Classic. That suprises me. So, I need a history lesson, why on earth are they not produced anymore? Were they not a popular bike for some reason?

Old 09-11-2012, 10:33 PM
Cowboy Rob
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 2,565 Likes on 1,497 Posts

Too much time and $$$ to make them.

Old 09-11-2012, 10:41 PM
Mark_H
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Like anything else in business I would guess the ends didn't justify the means. if they would have sold like hotcakes I'm sure they would be making more.

It's a bummer to me. I've always been a fan of them. Have two of them now. Not only do I thing they look better, I think they ride better.

Old 09-11-2012, 11:10 PM
SprungDave
Road Warrior
Received 46 Likes on 30 Posts

All comes down to the fact that the Springers were expensive to produce and they are a niche bike.

Many of us also would like to believe that H-D just wanted to keep up the values of the Springers for those of us lucky enough to own the finest bikes H-D ever made. Too many of the same bikes produced just dilutes the richness of the bike itself.

According to H-D, they only made 23 of my year, model, and color. How often, do you suppose, I run into others with my model bike, let alone in my color? Contrast that with how many black road kings I saw just today?

I am o.k. with H-D making just a few, or no, Springers for a while. It just keeps up the value of the one between my legs.

Old 09-12-2012, 03:01 AM