Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Breakout Sound Fix and Cat Delete

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2014, 10:08 AM
JamieDTR
Advanced
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Breakout Sound Fix and Cat Delete

I posted this in another forum, and finally got some time to copy and paste it over here.

Well, with all the questions I have asked, it is time for me to get something back to this forum.

I may not know much about my bike yet, but I know it is too quiet. I am also a farmer, so tackling jobs and figuring things out is a "pass time" of mine! lol

so, after reading multiple posts, I decided to remove the cat's in an attempt to give a little more roar from my bike. However, my setup is totally different than anything else I have seen posted. As of yet, I haven't taken her to the road yet, just listened to the difference in the shop at idle with some cracks of the throttle. Trying to rate sound is different to everyone, but here is my conclusion. I will give stock a rating of 1, and no mufflers/open pipes a rating of 10. I would give this mod a rating of about 3. Was a little disappointed, but maybe a road test will make me edit my thoughts.

The following post will show what I did.
First this is to remove the mufflers from the bike. You will need:
9/16" socket
3/8" socket
socket handle
flat-tipped screw driver
WD-40 - seemed to help on the second one
a white, non-marring rubber mallet.

1. Remove heat shield with screw driver
2. Remove bolts from underneath with 3/8" socket
3. Remove exhaust clap with 9/16" socket
4. Spray a little WD-40 around the clamp and where the muffler fits over the pipe.
5. With the mallet, tap the clamp forward and off the muffler.
6. Pull muffler off. You may need to tap gently on the muffler while pulling backwards and wiggling up and down.