Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DRB's 2007 XL1200C Consolidated Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2017, 02:46 PM
deadrubberboy
Road Master
Received 118 Likes on 107 Posts
Default DRB's 2007 XL1200C Consolidated Build Thread

Been tinkering away on the bike since I bought it. Posted some MOD's in their own threads, some in the What Did You Do To Your Sportster Today thread, and some weren't documented at all.

Consolidating all of that stuff here, and I will post any/all future things here.

Day I bought it from Craigslist:

Starting point

Currently:

Right Side

Left Side

All work done by me, outside in the FL heat. I'm new to wrenching, so if you are too, know that it's not as hard as it seems. Just get a manual, research and give it a try. I am working with a limited budget so I do my best to find deals and I sell all take off parts to fund future upgrades. I know many people keep stock parts, but I don't plan to sell the bike, and clutter is the enemy.

Table of Contents:

First service - New to me used bike, wanted good baseline.

Fuel Controller and Air Cleaner - After establishing service was up to date I focused on making sure the "stage 1" it came with was right

LED lighting - H4 LED bulb, second LED headlight, LED turn signals, R/B/T, and load balancer

Update to LED lighting - Bates style bucket / knockoff Daymaker

DIY Coil Relocation and Tank Lift

Horn Relocation & combo high/low tone horns

Seat and Sissy Bar

DIY Sissy Bar Pad

Suspension Upgrades and 4over Fork Extension

Brakes - Pads, Rotors, and SS lines

Performance Oil Filter and Primary Drain Plug

Plasti Dipping Fork Lowers

Patriot Defender Exhaust

Laydown License Plate w/ Storage

Keyless Ignition

Handlebars

XR Jiffy Stand - longer stand installed w/ "the penny trick"

Energy One extra clutch plate kit

Alloyboltz engine bolts kit

Mirror extensions hackjob