Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP! Sportster not running right after riding for approx. 15-20 mins

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2017, 10:46 PM
Cinrakara28
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! Sportster not running right after riding for approx. 15-20 mins

Hi,

I am new to the sportster world and well the whole Motorcycle world really. I will do my best to explain the issue, and sorry if this is a simple fix that should be easy to find on the web.

I had purchased a 2001 HD Sporster XL883C with approximately 24k miles about 4-5 months ago from family members. I had obtained my license and rode the bike prior to purchase with no issues. After purchase, I rode the bike home (1hour-65 miles) with no issues, and then for a few weeks after. No super long rides, and to and from work.

One night on my way home, the bike began jerk, and backfire super loud like gunshots (not sure if it is from carb or exhaust) anytime I tried to give throttle. I was near a gas station so I stopped and my fuel tank was fairly low took about a full 3 gallons at the time. Started the bike back up and tried to finish my commute but it still jerked, backfired, and lost total acceleration in sperts (i assume is why the bike jerks) but does not die. The bike also starts, and idles with no issues even during the poor performance.

I researched the issue and started by trying to clean the carb. It was a little dirty but not super excessive. I started the bike and rode it with no issues, but it was not a long ride due to rain at the time.

A few days later, I rode the bike to meet my wife for lunch and it rode fine, and even made it on the highway with no issues. I then came to a stoplight an sat for about 3-5 minutes waiting for my turn. Once I began to apply throttle, the same issues as prev. described.