Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 Sportster 883 stalling issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2017, 02:25 PM
Dustin Wicks
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Sportster 883 stalling issue

Hey Guys,

Noob here. Just bought a seldom ridden garage kept 02 Sportster for a song. Only problem is it won't stay running! I can start it on full choke it stays running for a minute then stalls. Any time I throttle or turn choke off it stalls as well.

It was last serviced by HD in July of 16 and they did a carb cleaning, replaced the starter, replaced a rusted clutch line; and replaced the battery.

After buying I replaced the fuel with fresh fuel, replaced the brand new battery (it had died from a year of no use since last replacement). Still wouldn't stay running.

I opened the carb today and and cleaned the jets and float. (first time doing so and used YouTube so maybe I messed something up though I was careful and it's still running the same so I don't think so) It seemed to idle better, even got it 500 feet down the road before it stalled again.

Dropped the tank and cleaned the fuel filter no change. Replaced the plugs and wires because the plugs were fouled. No improvement. After googling some more think it might be a fuel delivery issue. But I don't know how to test that! Right now I'm trying to decide if I should A.) give up and tow it to a shop for diag, B.) tow it to Harley and trade it in for a new one (I only paid $500 for it) or C. Keep throwing parts at it.

One note, the fuel lines do seem to be dry rotted, cracked and torn. When you touch them the rubber stains your fingers black but I'm not sure how to verify. I watched a YouTube video showing gas squirting into carb when you throttle I didn't see that happen when I turned throttle but the vid was of a crotch rocket so not sure if design is the same.

What should I do?!?!?!