Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Primary leak

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2018, 11:13 PM
giangofett
Cruiser
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Primary leak

Please bear with with me as I am fairly new to Harleys but I just replaced my clutch plates with the extra plate kit from Barnett and now I have a leak at what seems to be near the drain plug. I've been doing some reading and I've heard that the culprit seems to be the inner primary seal, is that right? I never before had a leak issue with the primary till I changed the clutch plates. I followed what I thought was the torque spec and sequence for my cover but might be incorrect (sounds weird because its not sequentially higher) as the manual only shows numbers 1, 2, and 3 multiple times. I did use a new James gasket for primary and derby cover. Any suggestions to check on?

Forgot to add that I have a '01 xl1200c

Old 02-20-2018, 03:18 AM
ALUK
Intermediate
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It's not a failed O-ring around the drain plug by any chance? Mine used to drip until I changed the O-ring. They tend to get forgotten when the primary oil is changed.

Old 02-20-2018, 03:25 AM
Hoginedgewood
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,190 Likes on 652 Posts

Clean oil is harder to track, until it hit the floor.
Wipe the primary good and clean, should leave a trail from the leak and south.
Could put post it notes near suspected areas such as drain plug and primary cover.

Old 02-20-2018, 09:16 AM
mrhammer2u
Elite HDF Member
Received 1,354 Likes on 925 Posts

If it's coming from the drain plug, that's your culprit. When you put the drain plug back in you have to clean the surface area of the plug and the hole. If there's any gunk when you put the plug back in, it won't seal well.

Before you drain it, clean the area real good. Then wait and see where it bleeds from.

Old 02-20-2018, 09:47 AM
twoglides13
Road Captain