Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My first "long" trip on my Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2018, 08:14 PM
Dudepants
Road Warrior
Received 587 Likes on 330 Posts

Originally Posted by firehawk6
I guess you missed the memo about the Sportster being good for nothing but putting to the store for some milk...

NICE looking bike! Sportsters are a blast to ride, I know I love mine.
ha! Yeah I’ve heard that too....guess I’ll just have to enjoy riding it distances even though it’s a girls bike hahahaha.

thanks man, I really like the pictures I’ve seen of your bike too.

The following users liked this post:
firehawk6 (08-15-2018)
Old 08-15-2018, 08:17 PM
Dudepants
Road Warrior

Originally Posted by futzy
I just started riding and have done a couple of 2 hour trips from Chicago to Wisconsin on a sportster 48. First time was a breeze, just a bit stiff in the back/neck but this recent trip left me feeling like I have carpal tunnel in my right hand. My middle and ring fingers are hard to straighten out and I've got very little finger strength (didn't even notice until I went to pull the key out the ignition and struggled). Hoping it will pass soon and my body will adjust for more trips in the near future.
hey futzy, I hope your hand gets better too. Have you tried a different bar set up or grips? My original bars put me in a position that was really uncomfortable and made my hands numb. As soon as I tried bars with a higher rise/more back sweep it cured the issues. Also those stock grips are garbage!

futzy (08-15-2018)
Old 08-15-2018, 08:22 PM
futzy
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Dudepants